“My Vision of You”

It took one glance,

To convince me to believe, in love at first sight,

My life carries very powerful chance,

You helped to show me a newfound light.

You came into my dream,

With all that you are, what keeps you strong,

I pondered this dream, and what it was to mean,

This was a vision, the beginning of song.

Some spoke of your non-existence,

Those tried to persuade me this would be a journey, so long,

Yet, I hung on, with lack of resistance.

The least I ever knew,

Never seemed to deter you away,

I was so much more to you,

Than I was to my own dismay.

A supportive and determined hand,

You held out in front of my mind’s eye,

Not a word did you speak, not a single command,

Your love told me to give my life one last try.

So why, my dear loved one,

Do we sit in the past, before one another?

Like the sound of a lighting bolt’s hum,

As it retreats back into the sky, as if afraid of its brother.

I pray to have that dream once again,

Filled with your joy and love,

For our eyes to meet, just as they met then,

 While leaving our hearts to rise above.

Only our fates lie ahead,

Leaving us with many questions,

Fate is one we should never dread,

Yet, life does not come with instructions.

6 thoughts on ““My Vision of You”

  1. I read this after a long day and a fierce fight with a loved one ~ and I ended up immediately apologizing to him!
    Amazingly written dear!

  2. So much emotions in your writing and this piece is fresh and helps the reader fit themselves in the writing. I know it does for me.

  3. J Karen Carr says:

    The line about the lightning bolt is so striking. Lines like that draw me back again and again to a writer’s work. You are extremely talented.

Leave a Reply

