“Changes”

When I am with you,

It seems we are only friends,

Two people without a clue,

Like the beginning of the end.

You have something you must say,

I can see it in your eyes,

We didn’t mean for it to be this way,

A little sugar… too much spice.

Why can’t we get along?

Why do we constantly disagree?

Our lives are an unfinished song,

Will it end with us meant to be?

You do not open up,

To me, who you used to adore,

You make me feel like I have screwed up,

With your thoughts behind a deadlocked door.

I do not want to be alone,

Or blamed for your own ways,

I refuse to throw you another bone,

Or waste away the days.

3 thoughts on ““Changes”

  1. Uzoma says:

    Emotion overflow here. Words so beautiful yet touching. What more can the heart ask for?

    Well-penned, Mary.

  2. I believe I know what your feeling towards this poem. Powerful! and gripping with so much emotion and someone to listen.

    🙂 Great and beautiful poem Mary. 🙂

Leave a Reply

