“My Last Wishes”

WRITTEN AUGUST 15TH, 2009

To all my dearest friends,

To those who care and those who do not,

When it becomes my end,

Will you be there for me like I have thought?

When my body is laid to rest,

What will be said of me,

Will you all see I have always tried my best,

To be the best I could be?

When I am done with this life and move on,

Will you all truly miss me,

Will you gather, one by one,

Over my open casket, remembering who I used to be?

To all my friends so dear,

While I am lying on my death bed,

Will you all be near,

When I am pronounced dead?

Will you sing songs of wishes,

Will you hold my limp, lifeless hand,

And give me goodbye kisses,

Would you all take a stand?

To all my friends I love,

Please stay by my side,

As you watch my soul fly like a dove,

To what lies beyond the sky.

9 thoughts on ““My Last Wishes”

  1. sirrah says:

    Ah,if only these questions could be answered before.
    Keep sharing and writing.

  2. oh…my gosh. We’re you feeling ill at one point? Or suicidal. Just curious. This is powerful writing.

  3. J Karen Carr says:

    I’m curious too. Is this a poem from the past?

  4. Your poem still has such raw power Mary, even though it came from a place that you have now moved on from. It feels kind of strange viewing art that is created out of times of serious emotion or great stress, how we still connect to that emotion, even though the act of creating that art usually cleanses us and can change us for the better. You will always have friends who care about you Mary and your superb talent will simply get better and better, with more people to marvel over it each day. Thanks you for sharing, keep creating and making the world a better place.

    • Thank you for the lovely comment. It was a time of mixed emotion and you are very right… it has changed me for the better. I have learned much and grown since that time 🙂

      • So glad to hear that Mary – always draw strength from experience and never dwell on the negative or look back. I am happy that your art could help you in this way and it is fantastic to hear from you again. Keep on smiling.

Leave a Reply

